Bromsgrove covers the same area as Bromsgrove District Council in North Worcestershire, with its twenty parishes. The constituency includes the villages of Alvechurch, Barnt Green, Belbroughton, Blackwell, Clent, Cofton Hackett, Hagley, Hollywood, Lickey, Marlbrook, Catshill, Tardebigge, and Wythall.


The borough of Bromsgrove returned two members to Parliament in 1294, Thomas Rassall and Thomas Barneford, but not to any subsequent one.

Since its split with neighbouring Redditch in 1983 (by which time the population of both towns had grown significantly over the previous 20 years), it has always returned a Conservative Member of Parliament (MP).

The MP from 1997 to 2010, Julie Kirkbride, announced on 28 May 2009 that she would be standing down as an MP at the next General Election

Sajid Javid was first elected as MP for Bromsgrove in May 2010.